View more on
What Is Jerusalem?
View more topics under
Interactive Map

Greater Jerusalem


Jerusalem Story Team

Greater Jerusalem” refers to the 440 km sq region encompassing Jerusalem and its suburbs, which Israel mostly controls through Jewish settlements, and which it is planning to incorporate into the city’s official boundaries.1 Seventy-five percent of the area of “Greater Jerusalem” lies within territories occupied in 1967,2 which includes, in addition to Israeli municipal Jerusalem, three major Jewish settlements or settlement blocs, to the east, south, and north of the city, respectively, each with its own regional and local self-government (separate from the city).

Use the magnifier box in the bottom left-hand corner to view the map full screen. Zoom in to view the localities’ names. Click on the Legend in the upper right to view and manipulate the various map layers.

For a detailed analysis of the many boundary changes the city has undergone, see Where Is Jerusalem? The Uncertain and Unfixed Boundaries of the City.



450 km sq with 75 percent of the area within territories occupied in 1967 according to Jan de Jong, “Israel’s ‘Greater Jerusalem’ Engulfs the West Bank’s Core,” Jerusalem Quarterly file (1997); 47.100 sq miles (about 160 km sq) according to “Greater’ Jerusalem Area,” United Nations Digital Library, accessed January 28, 2021; and “Jerusalem: ‘Greater’ Jerusalem,” Jewish Virtual Library.


de Jong, “Israel’s ‘Greater Jerusalem,’” 47.

Load More Load Less