Outer Ring

Settlement belt around Jerusalem within the occupied West Bank and outside the Inner Ring, which falls within the expanded Israeli municipal boundaries. It is composed of state-authorized settlements and unauthorized settlement outposts, both built on confiscated Palestinian land. There are three settlement blocs in this area: Gush Etzion to the south, Ma‘ale Adumim to the east, and the northern settlement bloc of Giv’at Ze‘ev, each with its own infrastructure of roads and checkpoints that are connected to each other and to the center of Jerusalem through a network of bypass roads.