Jerusalem governorate (Muhafazat al-Quds)

The district of Jerusalem as defined by the Palestinian Authority (PA) in 1995. It was established alongside 15 other governorates, when the PA took on its administration as per the Oslo Accords. The governorate (or district; in Arabic, Muhafazat al-Quds) includes a wide area between Ramallah in the north and Bethlehem in the south, extending eastward as far as the Dead Sea. The governorate and its agencies are subordinate to the Ministry of Local Government and headed by a governor, who is appointed directly by the PA president. While the governorate includes the area controlled by the Israeli Jerusalem municipality, it has no jurisdiction over that area. For this reason, the Palestinian Central Bureau of Statistics divides the governorate into two subdistricts: J1 (which coincides with Israeli municipal Jerusalem) and J2 (which is the remainder of the Jerusalem governorate that falls within the West Bank and is under PA authority). However, J2 is also mostly under Israeli control as 89 percent of the district is Area C, while 10.6 percent of it is Area B, and less than 1 percent is Area A.

See Where Is Jerusalem?, J1, and J2.